Help Displaying Textured FBX Models

I have a textured static model in Blender 2.77 that I wish to display with MonoGame. I thought I’d export it from Blender as FBX. Because I’m relatively new to MG, I started with an MSDN tutorial, Tutorial 1: Displaying a 3D Model on the Screen. Unfortunately the FBX format of the included model is deprecated by MG’s importer. Nevertheless, I reverted to a simple Blender model – a cube with each face mapped to an image. (I’m developed several complex models in Blender, so I know how to UV map faces of a cube.)

For guidance, I used the pipeline tool Help documentation – step by step. I have to admit to being a bit mystified because the documentation does not put the tool in perspective. Is it meant to be used (for content) independently of Visual Studio or together? If together, in what order? The documentation does not discuss textured models, so I had to resort to other sources – an ebook and the web. From these sources, I gather that, after an XNB is built, it has a relative reference to the path of the texture image file, and the image file should not be built as content, but copied separately to the output folder. QUESTION: Is that interpretation correct?

Result: The model displayed, but it was not textured. I double-checked that I had copied my image file into a folder named Textures. I verified that my FBX file had UVs by importing it to a vacant scene in Blender and selecting all faces. I looked at the FBX file with Notepad, seeking to verify that it had references to the image file. Unfortunately, with a binary file, I couldn’t be sure. Instead, I exported an ASCII FBX from Blender, and it did have several references.

If I can get some step-by-step advice for how to address the content build and distribution, I will start with a fresh new VS project.

By the way, I saw the recommendation to assure a build action of MonoGameContentReference. I did not see that option; I saw only Build and Copy.