Should I first make an engine, or just program the game?

Hi!

I’ve been planning to develop a 2D platformer, but I wanted to ask something before I started my first project:

Is it worthwhile to program a game engine that would deal with basic aspects (collisions, animations, getting inputs, etc), or should I just focus on the game itself and put everything there?

Maybe there’s no difference at all and I’m just a newbie, but I’d love to hear everyone’s opinions!

Thanks!

Always engine for me, as all my games will be in 3D, my engine is geared as such, you can make one for 2D… Custom physics should be easy that way too…

1 Like

Since this is your first project, I recommend starting on the engine. Start with each part (Ex. animations, collisions) and work to make them as modular as you can. Then, design a simple test level around your engine with some core features your game requires. That will help you identify what you need to modify in your engine so that your game is well-equipped and ready to be developed.

2 Likes

Also, I almost forgot, welcome to the forums.

1 Like

Yeah, you’re right! I’m gonna start simple, then go off from it! Thanks! :]

Aah! This community seems to be really friendly and active, so thanks for the help!

1 Like

When I started my engine I started the engine editor. I set up the t key to change in to playmode. That way I could quickly added new elements to my project and test them as I went.

Made it really fast for me and I had a fully working editor to make the levels with

And welcome to the forum.

2 Likes

As an alternative approach, I suggest you actually develop your engine and your game in tandem. In this way it’s easy to focus your engine efforts to provide functionality that your game needs and let it evolve as you develop. Do try to consider things you might need, but also try not to get hung up on them.