SQL Server Source Control for Developers (FREEWARE)

I know that this is a forum devoted to MonoGame development. I also know that the way I write my longer threads such as this one, reads very much like a corporate document. Forgive me this flaw, as like many developers who have slaved under the aegis of large corporate environments for long periods of time, to a certain extent I have become institutionalized much like the prisoners we are forced to become in order to survive but in this case, financially.

Any game of any complexity or size requires some level of database storage. I have worked with many databases over the course of a very long professional and now non-professional career in retirement. From Dbase to Oracle to SQLite, I have either worked in-depth with such engines or tinkered with them to some level of proficiency. I am by no means an expert as the likes of Joe Kelko, who has specialized in database internals and DBA-style development specifically, but I have come to know more than that of the average developer in this realm. That being said, there is no doubt in my mind that Microsoft’s SQL Server is by far the finest database engine ever created. With its inherent features of easy installation, ease-of-use, and solid Transact SQL development language, only one other database engine has ever come close in such capabilities; Sybase’s SQL Anywhere (which used to be freely available for developers).