Childfriendly interactive crayon scene for kids aged 5 or less

Hi everyone,

it started as a project for my daughter (at the age of about 2). She loved two apps I had on my old iPad - it was an animated/interactive scene. Just tap somewhere and see what happens.

On my way to find more apps like that, I had a hard time, so I decided to try to make one myself.

So, this is it. I did some research, found Monogame, found Spriter, and the great SpriterDotNet implementation from loodakrawa. Altogether, it’s a pleasure to with all those.
And although I am not a great artist, I tried my best.

As my daughter liked the result much, I decided to publish the app now for Android and even iOS lately.
I am really amazed by the ease a game can be ported nowadays.

In case you want to have a look (all animations and sound-triggers were done using Spriter), here are the links to the screencast-movie and store-links:

Youtube:

Google PlayStore

Apple AppStore

Please consider: the game aims kids aged 4 or less.
So don’t expect fancy achievements or other goals.
I didn’t even implement any menu, options, or text to read. Kids at that age usually can’t read yet.

Also, I didn’t add any in-App-Purchases or advertising. I really dislike that myself and rather pay for an app.
But also I was shocked, that other apps targeting kids claim to be free and are full of that stuff.

So, no wonder that nobody really finds my app in the stores - everybody just scans the “for free”-stuff.
But that’s ok. It was fun making it anyway.

In case you’re interested, have a look.
I’m pleased if I was able to make someone happy.

You all have a great day! And thanks for the great and so easly portable Monogame and as well as the great community! The forum helped a lot whenever I had trouble.

Heiko

PS: Happy to ready what you think.

PPS: Also available at Amazon AppStore… but as my forum user is new I am limited to two links per post only.

7 Likes

Nice content loading status bar ^_^y

Thank you!