Contributing in a meaningful way

Guys,

I am a professional software developer, but I am not a professional XNA or game developer. I just do this as a hobby on nights and weekends. I would really like to contribute to the project in some meaningful way. The problem is that I just don’t know how XNA worked under the hood. So I am really limited in what I could actually do. As an example; issue #3572 seems pretty straightforward. But not knowing exactly how XNA implemented this makes it hard to be sure that simply adding a call is the correct thing to do.

In short I guess I want to know how a guy with no real XNA background and help?

Chris

1 Like

For me it’s a nights and weekend spare time thing as well.

There are many areas where you don’t need any prior knowledge of XNA, such as #3530 which just deals with loading various file types using FreeImage.

If you are using a platform such as OS X or Linux, then there are also some platform-specific issues that don’t get as much attention because the core team primarily use Windows as a dev platform.

@KonajuGames Could you explain the steps(or link me somewhere if they have already been posted somewhere I am having truoble finding a layout of somekind with procedures if one exists) on basicly how to get involved with contributing fixes to MonoDevelop? I personally have Linux and Windows and even though I dont use it the most for actual stuff, it is a high priority to support for me. One of my main issues is Im not familiar with how teams work together on GitHub either.

I got no life so I code nearly all day every day Id love to help out!

I assume you mean MonoGame here.

Our contributing guide has some info to get one started:

If you need help with git or how GitHub works you can go here:

Finally the best way to get started is to look for issues with the Help Wanted tag:

I suggest starting with something that is small and well known to you to begin. Good luck and thanks for wanting to help with the project.