Custom XML content importers and Shared Projects

I started a new project recently, where I wanted to create a game engine, along with a game using it. I created a shared project for the engine, and referenced it in the game project. I used the shared project as I would like to share this code in multiple, cross-platform projects. Maybe this was not the best option, I am new to Monogame and C#/Visual Studio in general.

Anyway, in doing this I created a class describing the XML content. Then created a sample XML file
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?> <XnaContent> <Asset Type="AdventureEngine.DataManager.GameStartDescription"> <StartingScreen>FirstScreen</StartingScreen> </Asset> </XnaContent>

but when I tried to build the content pipeline I got an error:

C:/Development/Monogame/Projects/AdventureTest/AdventureTest/Content/StartGameDescription.xml: error: Importer ‘XmlImporter’ had unexpected failure!
Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Content.Pipeline.InvalidContentException: Could not resolve type ‘AdventureEngine.DataManager.GameStartDescription’.
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Content.Pipeline.Serialization.Intermediate.IntermediateReader.ReadObject[T](ContentSerializerAttribute format, ContentTypeSerializer typeSerializer, T existingInstance)
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Content.Pipeline.Serialization.Intermediate.IntermediateReader.ReadObject[T](ContentSerializerAttribute format)
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Content.Pipeline.Serialization.Intermediate.IntermediateSerializer.Deserialize[T](XmlReader input, String referenceRelocationPath)
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Content.Pipeline.XmlImporter.Import(String filename, ContentImporterContext context)
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Content.Pipeline.ContentImporter`1.Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Content.Pipeline.IContentImporter.Import(String filename, ContentImporterContext context)
at MonoGame.Framework.Content.Pipeline.Builder.PipelineManager.ProcessContent(PipelineBuildEvent pipelineEvent)