Different spriteBatch.Draw behaviour on Windows and Linux

Hello all,

I am new to mono and I like it a lot!
I am creating a game that is running great on Windows but there is a difference when I run it on Linux.

-When spriteBatch.Draw origin Vector2 is at the center of the image, in windows when you change the size it is changing around the center of the image, proportionally from both sides.
In Linux the image size change is centered in top left corner and it is not proportional as it is in Windows. It grows in right and down directions and this is very importnt part of my game so I want to make sure it is consistent on all platforms.

This is te only problem I have so far when moving to Linux and I would be very thankful if some can give me a tip, maybe I am missing something obvious :).

Rotation however is same in Windows and Linux, it rotates fine around the image’s center as expected.

-Fyi, I used monodevelop in Linux to build the code and it failed because it could not load the images. The problem was that the .png files were created with 16bits per chanel and after converting them to 8bits per chanel it worked. Maybe this will help someone.

-I also created mono Linux project in Windows and it was running fine(without any difference with the Windows project) but when I moved the built files to Linux and tried to run the exe with “mono mygame.exe” it gave me errors “System.DllNotFoundException: SDL.dll…” and I would like to know if I am missing something here.

Thank you,
Endi

Could you post an example app project that shows the issue?
We don’t have too many linux users, but the behaviour here should match between WindowsGL and linux as they share most of their code!

“System.DllNotFoundException: SDL.dll” can easilly be fixed. If you are using Ubuntu just run this in terminal:

sudo apt-get install libsdl2-dev libsdl2-mixer-2.0-0 libopenal-dev libsdl-mixer1.2

If you are using some other linux, tell me the name of it and I’ll help you get it fixed.