MonoGame Mouse.GetState() not getting position

Hi All,

I am relatively new to MonoGame but I player around with XNA quite a lot back in the day.

I am trying to port an old project of mine. This project was a 2D game engine (nowhere near complete) that included a windows forms based tile map editor.

The issue that I am currently having is when using Monogame Game class embedded within a windows form.

In order to achieve this, I am setting the draw surface to a PictureBox as follows:

void graphics_PreparingDeviceSettings(object sender,
PreparingDeviceSettingsEventArgs e)
{

e.GraphicsDeviceInformation.PresentationParameters.DeviceWindowHandle = drawSurface;

}

where drawSurface is a PictureBox’s IntPtr handle.

The issue comes in when I am trying to get the MouseState in the Update loop.

MouseState ms = Mouse.GetState();

I have also tried MouseState ms = Mouse.GetState(this.Window);

I am unsure why but ms.X and ms.Y are never updated.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. This project was created using the Windows monogame project type.

This is an interesting one.

Thinking about it what is probably happening is the windows form is consuming all mouse events so Monogame never sees them.

I would have a look at MonoGame.Forms - Create your Editor Environment! and see if you can use that first.

If not I think you may have to find a way of sending mouse events from the main form to Monogame.

WinFormsGameForm does have a windows message pump so it should be possible.

1 Like

It seems you are creating a windows project. Try connecting the control handle like this:

Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Input.Mouse.WindowHandle = Handle;

Further if you need keyboard input (Keyboard.GetState()) you could use this nice little trick:

private void SetKeyboardInput(bool enable)
{
    var keyboardType = typeof(Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Input.Keyboard);