Very new to game development/C# and I have some concerns regarding Monogame as an engine

Hey guys, I’d like to start this topic off by introducing myself. My name is Chris. I currently own and operate my own business (oddly enough, related to the video game industry), but am ready for a career change. In about a years time, I’ll be at a point in my life where I can finally sit down and begin the journey of developing my own game.

The sort of game I’d like to make would be something similar to Terraria (well, similar in block management only), but much more focused on action rather than building. I have been brainstorming for this game for about 6 years or so, and I know exactly what direction I’d like to take, and what systems I’d like to implement.

With that said, I do have some concerns…

Terraria was built using XNA. Monogame (so I’ve been told) expands upon that framework. It would seem like an obvious choice, but I have my doubts. I’ve been talking with a few people, and one of them had recommended Unity over Monogame, so I asked them why. He mentioned that Unity was a lot less work, but I’m not so convinced of that. There are a few threads here regarding Unity vs. Monogame, and I don’t really want to spark another debate, other than to gain some insight into which engine would be more suited for what I’m trying to achieve.

I was taking a look at a game that was released in 2016 called “Enter the Gungeon”. This game was developed in Unity, and has a few of the systems and graphics I’m interested in, so Unity may seem like the way to go. However, I’m almost certain (but not positive) that there are all kinds of custom shaders within that game, which makes things infinitely more complicated for me, having only coded for a few weeks 5 years ago. I’m just not so sure my math skills are up for that type of challenge (shaders).