Any tips for a framerate independent game?

After programming in XNA, then moving on to C++ and DirectX, something I have never done before is framerate independent game. I came back to Monogame to work on an android project so I decided this would be the best time to try it. I want to know what are the main drawbacks to this is there are any? How would I handle time based events if I can no longer rely on consistent updates (ie: variable foo will reach 20 in exactly 20 updates)?

These two are my main questions but if there’s any advice I can get on the subject I would like to know.

I won’t claim to be an expert, but here’re some things I’ve learned.

There are two basic methods behind frame rate independence, both with their own pros and cons, and therefore neither is considered ‘the best’ way.

The simpler method is to have a fixed number of updates running in the background and a free frame rate. I.e. regardless of the frame rate, the game still updates a fixed number of times per second. This is often used by developers who port console games to PC because console games often just sync the game updates with the frame rate (e.g. 30fps), and its easier to just keep this process for PC. In order to allow the frame rate to run faster, you interpolate the graphics between update states.

Pros:

• Physics is simpler as you don’t have to consider variable acceleration over variable frame rates.
  • Time based events can still be processed by using the number of updates.
  • The game will (or should) play exactly the same regardless of the frame rate.
  • Can make multiplayer easier to implement as you’re not dealing with a different number of updates per player.

Cons:

• Can produce stuttering on systems where the update is slow to process but the graphics is fast, resulting is slow frames when it updates and fast ones when it does not.
  • Interpolation between updates can be tricky to implement.