Anyone using a Mac for monogame development?

Hello,

I am an developer who primarily works on Mac OS. And I’m ready to move away from Unity and ready to give Mono a try.

Question here is anyone using a Mac for realising their games? Even on consoles?

Any issues I need to be weary of?

Just for ease would rather stay with Mac OS.

Hey @EngineerKunle, Welcome to the Community!

Don’t blame you, it is lovely to finally have a single reason to give for why moving away or avoiding that thing, is a good thing…

Many do use Macs for their MG development.

Get familiar with Paths and file locations, maybe some other things to be aware of as you go along…

To make life faster for you, there is a very active Discord group MonoGame Discord [https://discord.gg/monogame] which could help you get rapid responses to most of your setup issues.

Happy Coding!

1 Like

Welcome,

I haven’t encountered anything major, but there are a few things that are good to know, I wrote about them on my blog:

1 Like

Awesome it’s good to hear people are using mono on Macs…Will try a full install and get to coding :slight_smile:

Thanks for the reply. And you are right about that thing :).

Awesome that has given me some confidence

1 Like

A few pages to take a look at:

Setting up for Mac:

Setting up your development environment for macOS | MonoGame Documentation

The Showcase page:

Showcase (monogame.net)

And whenever you feel happy to assist the community:

Donate | MonoGame

Donations are entirely up to each user, I like to let people know about it as it is a little hidden in the lower corner of the about page…

Keep Coding!

I use a Mac exclusively for Monogame development. Overall, it works great but Visual Studio for Mac still has some bugs in it though it’s getting better with each update. Also, Monogame does not put a minimize button on the game window when running on a Mac. There is one when the same game is run on a Windows box though.