Are you using AnyCPU or do you build for fixed targets?

I am mainly asking this, as I do have some code in C++ DLLs and I wonder if I should supply a 32 together with a 64bit version (of that DLL) and reference accordingly.

or shall we just stick to x64 output all the way nowdays? I target Windows only

From my understanding, since C# compiles to IL and not machine code, AnyCPU is usually preferred. The IL will then be compiled at runtime to either x86 or x64 depending on the architecture of the platform it’s being run on, which helps ensure compatibility.

I am not an expert here, so actually I’m also a bit curious if there are scenarios here which might make one preferable over the other.

AnyCPU is a concept that doesn’t exist anymore in C#/.NET and it is not possible to make .NET applications that targets AnyCPU (since Core 3.1/NET 5).

This is misleading because Visual Studio (upon creating a new C# project) will still define an AnyCPU configuration (which is not quite an AnyCPU configuration, but instead telling the .NET runtime to use the machine defaults x86 or x64 RID). But when you publish with dotnet publish, you are forced to specify the RID (which can’t be AnyCPU).

TL;DR; AnyCPU is not a target anymore and can’t be one. It is only a debugging commodity meaning “use whatever’s on my computer, I accept the consequences”.

I would suggest targeting x64 from the get go and not caring about anything else.
x86 will be removed from the next release of MonoGame anyway (because it has gone mostly extinct with 0.1% of all Steam users being on x86 systems).

4 Likes

That’s good info, thank you. I’ll went x64 and have not encountered any difference yet (but most likely, that’s what was built anyway)