Best approach to learning Monogame?

Hello, this is my first post on the forum but I have been a reader for a bit. I am, or have been beginning the process of learning Mongame. I am an experienced programmer which is why I decided on Monogame over something like Unity. Anyways, I don’t want to bore you.

I have at multiple times in the past started some game development. Where I personally always got hung up is the with the artwork. I done a little bit of pixel art with Aseprite but let’s be real, I am a programmer, I am not an artist. I’ve been caught in an endless cycle of…

1. Start game development.
  2. Focus on artwork.
  3. Lose focus of game development after frustration with said artwork.
  4. See step 1.

So my question to the forum is this. How do you personally go about prototyping a game? What I am really into is making the engine. I am at the stage now where I am just moving shapes like a square or a circle around the screen and treating that as my “sprite” if you will. If I get to a point where the underlying game logic is behaving correctly I can at that point in time add some artwork. Is this a backwards way of thinking? A concern I have is while I am moving a square around the screen, it is not doing it in the same way it would move an animation around a screen.

Any thoughts or suggestions on what some other people new to Monogame, but not necessarily a development process would take? Shapes or sprites?

I feel like my past experiences are exactly as you have described yours. I come up with some fun idea and get really excited about programming the engine or the AI, but then I come face to face with the artwork, menus, etc. and just lose interest.