Can't Install Visual Studio 2010 Templates for C#

I tried to install MonoGame with Visual Studio 2010, but when I got to the installer, the option to install the VS 2010 Templates was greyed out.

Here are some details on what exactly I’m using:

• Visual Studio Version: Microsoft Visual C# 2010 Express

I’m a complete newbie to MonoGame, so sorry if I’m missing something. I checked the system requirements (http://www.monogame.net/documentation/?page=System_Requirements), but they were empty, so I just kind of assumed that what I’m using right now works.

Thank you for your time.

Yeah, I don’t know why it’s grayed out or if they stopped supporting it. I think I’ve heard it has something to do with administrative rights.

Visual Studio C# 2010 Express with XNA 4.0 Refresh should do the trick until you can upgrade to MonoGame.

You could also try Xamarin Studio or MonoDevelop

Alright then, guess I’ll just wait for Monogame 3.6 and try again. Thanks!

Are you trying to install the “stable” version and not the develop one (3.6 develop branch) ?

Not sure about Vista being supported. MS has stopped its support.

Windows 7:

dev 3.6

So first off, I just thought I’d quickly mention support for Windows Vista: Vista is still under the Extended Support phase, and so is Windows 7, so it doesn’t really matter whether or not it’s still support by Microsoft, it matters if Monogame supports it in the first place. Just thought I’d clear that up.

And by the way, about my OS situation: I have Vista Ultimate with a product key, I have Windows 7 without a product key, and I even have Windows 10 Home with a product key. It’s just that I want to use Vista Ultimate because it’s the only ultimate version of Windows I have, and I want to make use out of it while I still can (I also just like how it’s designed a bit more, but this is the Monogame forum, not the Windows forum).

Anyways, sorry about that, just some nerd rage :worried: