Can't Seem to Run the Default Template

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Monogame and decided to install it with Visual Studio Community 2017. I have downloaded and installed Monogame along with its VS2017 template(shown on Monogame installation screen). I then decided to install VS2017, I followed some guide online and selected Universal Windows and .NET Desktop. It originally stated I had to download about 14GB worth of files but for some reason only 3GB was shown on the installation screen and after this 3GB, it simply finished. I assumed it was done but couldnt find the templates after launching VS, showing that it didnt install properly or something.

I then closed it, opened up the VS installer app again and reticked the .NET and Windows tabs and it stated I had more files to download and so I did. This time it was another 2GB (forgot the number but it was definitely smaller than the size it was supposed to download), but afterwards it allowed me to open up the default template (Game1.cs) in VS.

I then decided to hit run on the file, but at the same time I realised some keywords/variables were underlined in red and as expected, the program gave me errors: no suitable method found to override. I was then considering that there had to be something wrong with the VS installation process because everytime I returned and reticked a box, it would state 0kb (close as the only button) and if I unticked and reticked again, it would say I needed to download another 9GB but when I press okay, it shows only 800MB is being downloaded.

I am truly confused as to how VS 2017’s modification system works as well as why my MonoGame default file wont run. Another weird thing is that sometimes the values on the required space is sometimes a negative number, does this mean I will gain space back or does it mean I need more space.

Sorry for the hastle :slight_smile: