Creating a shader to draw outside of a texture/sprite font

Hello everyone,

I am studying shaders to be able to create new few effects.
What I could understand so far that we have 2 possibilities of shaders: You can make a shader only for you texture or for everything.

The problem is that creating a shader for a texture I can only change the pixel color, and I would like to create an effect that is bigger than the size of the texture.
eg: Let’s say that I need to create a border of a texture (ignoring the alpha)

How can I create a shader to process pixels that are outside of my texture (for example 2px of margin)

Thank you,
Danilo Peres

Look into render targets. You could draw your texture into a rt. Then use the rt as texture and apply a shader on it.

1 Like

Yeap, exactly…

It looks like that I need create a render target first…

Thanks

For who is looking an example:

public static Texture2D ImgWIthMargin(GraphicsDevice graphicsDevice, Texture2D img, int margin)
{
    // crate a render target with margins
    var renderTarget = new RenderTarget2D(graphicsDevice, img.Width + margin * 2, img.Height + margin * 2);

graphicsDevice.SetRenderTarget(renderTarget);
    graphicsDevice.Clear(Color.Transparent);

using (SpriteBatch spriteBatch = new SpriteBatch(graphicsDevice))
        {
            spriteBatch.Begin(SpriteSortMode.Immediate, BlendState.AlphaBlend, SamplerState.PointClamp, null, null);

// draw the texture with the margin
            spriteBatch.Draw(img, new Vector2(margin), Color.White);
        }

graphicsDevice.SetRenderTarget(null);

return renderTarget;
}

and now you can apply the effect to the new image

var img = ImgWIthMargin(GraphicsDevice, myImage, 10);
spriteBatch.Begin(SpriteSortMode.Immediate, null, null, null, null, myEffect);
spriteBatch.Draw(img, new Vector2(0, 0), Color.White);
spriteBatch.End();
img.Dispose();
1 Like