Documentation Help!

Good Evening, first off, I’m new to Monogame and XNA and have been using it for a couple of weeks now and am finding the freedom of working outside of Unity/Unreal to be liberating.
I have been working through the ‘Monogame Mastery’ book and have found it excellent so far.

So I have a bit of a strange question that I guess I could arguably ask anywhere but seeing as though I’m learning Monogame - figured I would ask it here.

I would like to know where to start when wanting to find out about how something works.
For instance, I have blindly followed both the RBWhitaker tutorials and the Monogame Mastery book in adding a ContentManager to my project (I’m choosing this as an example), however a visit to the Monogame API shows how to call on the API and set it up but not how it works or what it does.

Another example is that I want to draw some 2D primitives which I have accomplished and have implemented them how I want. However, I did this without understanding the actual method - I simply followed a tutorial and would like to have a deeper understanding.

Can anyone give me any advice in how to find out information like this?

So take a simple square:
Square → 2 triangles
Triangle → 3 points

There are 2 basic ways to represent this in code:
→ Vertices only
→ Vertices and indices

Vertices only:
Referencing the above image you have v0, v1, v2, and v3. In order to draw a square, we will have to draw 2 individual triangles: 2 triangles x 3 points each = Vertices[6]. This not only tells the graphics which primitives to draw, but in which order they are to be drawn. This will look as follows:
→ Vertices = v0, v1, v2, v1, v2, v3
So v0, v1, v2 draws our first triangle, and v1, v2, v3 draws our second.

Vertices and indices