Efficient way to draw Particles in a 2D game.

Hello there,

i am currently working on a 2D RTS game. I have wrote a 2d Particle Engine for this game and the Effects like Flamethrower looks really nice. A Flamethrower just needs 300-400 Particle to look good and here comes the problem.
When a lot of Units fight on the screen, i have to draw 10000 - 20000 Particles each Frame and the Framerate drops significantly. The main problem lies in the drawing function, because each particle use one spritebatch.draw();
I know this is the wrong way, but all i found are some 3D tutorials and i have no experience with 3D game creation.

Pseudo code:

spriteBatch.Begin(SpriteSortMode.Texture, BlendState.Additive);

for (int i = 0; i < 10000; i++)
    {
        spriteBatch.Draw(ParticleBase, tmpRectangle, null, Color.White, 180, Vector2.Zero, SpriteEffects.None, 0);
    }

spriteBatch.End();

What is the best way to solve this problem. I would really appreciate some Pseudo code, Tutorials or just a hint. I googled the last days and found nothing that helps me.

Hi :slight_smile:

For a flamethrower, you could use a texture showing many flames instead of one, and so reduce the number of particles.
Did you also deactive the depth test between them ? (in 2D, there is no depth ?)

I think an “easy” way of speeding things up would be to use DrawIndexedPrimitive or other methods like this one.

Another way would be to use instancing. One draw call for all the particles.
My last idea, maybe “simpler” than instancing: draw the flamethrower’s fire in a sort of animated/joint object (sort of cone, and spheres attached to the largest part, the end of the spay, these spheres fading away with time).
Then use the texture of flames UVs in a pixel shader to move the texture and give the feeling of it getting out of the weapon (according to the direction of the player to the end of the spray)

Last would be GPU particles, but it would be overkill for a 2D game, but why not…