Flag Shader?

I looking for either an existing shader, or a little help writing one… I would like to make a 2D flag wave effect. I’ve never written a shader before but after a few hours reading online I was able to come up with this test that looks like a flag waving in the wind if you use lots and lot of imagination. :sweat_smile:

FlagShader.fx
#if OPENGL
#define SV_POSITION POSITION
#define VS_SHADERMODEL vs_3_0
#define PS_SHADERMODEL ps_3_0
#else
#define VS_SHADERMODEL vs_4_0_level_9_1
#define PS_SHADERMODEL ps_4_0_level_9_1
#endif

float x;
float y;
Texture2D SpriteTexture;

sampler2D SpriteTextureSampler = sampler_state
{
	Texture = <SpriteTexture>;
};

struct VertexShaderOutput
{
	float4 Position : SV_POSITION;
	float4 Color : COLOR0;
	float2 TextureCoordinates : TEXCOORD0;
};

float4 MainPS(VertexShaderOutput input) : COLOR
{
	float2 coord = input.TextureCoordinates;
	if(coord.x > y - 0.5 && coord.x < y + 0.5) {
		coord.y += x;
	}
	return tex2D(SpriteTextureSampler, coord) * input.Color;
}

technique SpriteDrawing
{
	pass P0
	{
		PixelShader = compile PS_SHADERMODEL MainPS();
	}
};

Game1.cs
using Microsoft.Xna.Framework;
using Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Graphics;
using System;

namespace shadertest {
    public class Game1 : Game {
        GraphicsDeviceManager graphics;
        SpriteBatch spriteBatch;

Texture2D flag;
        Effect flagShader;

float x, y;

public Game1() {
            graphics = new GraphicsDeviceManager(this);
            Content.RootDirectory = "Content";
        }

protected override void LoadContent() {
            spriteBatch = new SpriteBatch(GraphicsDevice);

flag = Content.Load<Texture2D>("united-states-of-america-flag-small");
            flagShader = Content.Load<Effect>("FlagShader");
        }

protected override void Update(GameTime gameTime) {
            x = (float)(Math.Sin((Math.PI / 2) * gameTime.TotalGameTime.TotalSeconds));
            y = (float)Math.Cos((Math.PI / 2) * gameTime.TotalGameTime.TotalSeconds);