flickering sprites problem

I have a MonoGame C# game that I have been working on for several years. Recently, I decided to upgrade it to C#8, and as part of following the instructions to set it up, I also upgraded to a more recent version of MonoGame.

Now the sprites flicker. I’ve stripped away all but the absolute basics (e.g. there’s nothing in the Update loop), and determined that any sprite that’s drawn exactly once flickers:

int already = 0;
        protected override void Draw(GameTime gameTime)
        {            
            sprites.Begin();
            if (already<1)
            {
                sprites.Draw(myImage, Vector2.Zero, Color.White);
                already += 1;
            }            
            sprites.End();
            base.Draw(gameTime);
        }

If I change that code so that it checks (already<2) rather than (already<1), i.e. it draws the sprite twice rather than once, the flickering stops. The flickering also stops if I click and hold anywhere on the title bar of the window; sometimes it’ll stop with the image visible, sometimes with the image invisible. Any idea what’s going on here?

Are any of the objects using an alpha < 1?

If so, I’ve run into a bug where anything on the same layer will flicker if one of the two objects has an alpha < 1.

My work around was to assign each object a drawing layer and add .00001 to each object (and increment that object).

So:
Object A would be on Layer 0.0001
Object B would be on Layer 0.0002
Object C would be on Layer 0.0003

Etc…

Seems like a bug in MonoGame, but I haven’t had time to put together a demo app of this to report it as a bug yet. It’s on my long TODO list :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hey, is this your main game, or a sub class?