Folders on Android

When I use some values Special Folders.ApplicationData I get back values like /data/user/0/<package>/files/config. But using explorer-like apps I can’t find anything. The folders don’t exist. This is on a real device. I’m not experienced with the android file system structure. Is there something I am missing?

I want to be able to write and read some app data. What is the best place to write this data to? I want to write crash reports and later also serialize some settings probably.

Hey, so I found this when I was looking around in our earlier discussion…

https://developer.android.com/training/data-storage/app-specific

It looks like they changed their API in Android 10. I wonder if access to that folder is prevented now? My device is older, so maybe it doesn’t have this support. My code uses the older, deprecated folder to write files (which still works), and my files show up in the expected place.

It could very well be that my phone (Samsung Galaxy S8) has a way to view this. I get to it by going to My Files (Samsung App), then selecting Internal Storage. This lets me browse the files stored there.

I don’t really have a lot of experience with other devices, so if you don’t see this, I’m not sure where else to look :frowning:

*Edit: It occurs to me that your app might not have storage permissions. There’s a way you can force this on for your app to test, but I can’t recall offhand how. Google this :smiley:

If that’s what’s holding you back, let me know. I have some code handy that will allow you to check to see if you have the permission and if you don’t, request it.

1 Like