Getting Started, Picking a Release

I’m thinking about getting back into game development and I was just wondering if it’s worth waiting until 3.5 gets an official release, or should I get started with 3.4 and then upgrade when 3.5 gets an official release or maybe tackle the 3.5 dev builds? I have a little bit of experience with MonoGame (I spent a couple weeks with it a year or two ago, so I’m far from an expert), but I am a software developer for a living so I’m alright with getting my hands dirty.

Any idea when an official 3.5 build would be out? That might help with the decision here.

Thanks for the input!

I am using 3.4 for quite a long time and the only problem I encountered so far is related to the sounds, however I did not spend too much time on it, so maybe the issues are coming from my end. So, yes, you can start using 3.4.

I am not sure, however if you should use the NuGet version or the installer. I have done a couple of different test, so I am not sure if I messed up my system, or what happened, but long story short, now I only have the installer-version of Monogame 3.4 and not the NuGet one, and when I created my game I had to manually remove the monogame dll references and reference them again from my installation path (from program files folder).

So my suggestion is in nutshell:

• Download the installer of 3.4 from the main page here.
  • Install it.
  • Do not install NuGet version.
  • Create a new project.
  • Build the project.
  • You will probably get build errors, so remove the monogame framework dll (and any other monogame dlls, though I am not sure if there are anything else referenced by default).
  • Reference the required dlls directly from the Windows folder of the installed Monogame in program files folder.