How best to structure a MonoGame porject?

Hello. I’m still a beginner in MonoGame but I have a firm grasp of the basics like drawing and whatnot. But I’ve come from unity development and I am struggling to structure my classes and objects in an efficient and sensible way. I have two methods, each with their advantages and disadvantages:
-inherited classes (where I for example have a physics object class, that inherits from the collider class, which inherits from the sprite class. It works but is pretty all over the place and gets complicated really quickly)
-megastructure (got the idea from Tom Randall. Haven’t tried it out yet, but the idea is to have a class that has everything it could possibly need, and when making new entities, you just define them or put null if you don’t want the entity to have them. Sounds inefficient but pretty modular)

I want to know which of these is the preferred method for MonoGame, or if there’s another method that I don’t know about. Any help is appreciated!

2 Likes

Generally you shouldn’t have that many layers of inheritance, 2 layers or 3 if you can’t help it. I took that advice from someone after my code became a riddled mess and it’s really helped.

I don’t know about the megastructure class idea either, that sounds like the antithesis of object oriented design. :slight_smile:

I’m a fan of having a class for entities and then having event handlers triggering for Update, Draw, Initialize Graphics… And then inheriting that class while adding to the event handlers. Seems like a capable solution without complicating things. But the best part about Monogame is that you can do it however you want.

1 Like

thanks for the reply. So say if I wanted to just give an object my physics code. How would I go about that with your structure?

Just use something this.

Dead simple, but very powerful.

1 Like

The megastructure idea sounds like the “god” object as explained here: