How can I normalize my diagonal movement

I’m very new to this sorry if this is a bit of a noob question.

I have some simple movement code written but I would like to normalize it so the diagonal movement is the same speed as the movement on the X and Y axis.

private Vector2 _position;

protected override void Update(GameTime gameTime)
    {

if (Keyboard.GetState().IsKeyDown(Keys.W))
        {
            _position.Y -= 1;
        }

if (Keyboard.GetState().IsKeyDown(Keys.S))
        {
            _position.Y += 1;
        }

if (Keyboard.GetState().IsKeyDown(Keys.A))
        {
            _position.X -= 1;
        }

if (Keyboard.GetState().IsKeyDown(Keys.D))
        {
            _position.X += 1;
        }
}

Sum up all directions, then normalize this result vector in the end to get the normalized vector which you can then use to calculate your new position.

Gotta use trigonometry

I’ll see if I can find out how it’s done specifically later, but I know off the top of my head that you do that with trig.

What Kwyrky said, but Monogame does all this for you in Vector2. You can just set the components, then normalize the vector.

float speed = 100; // pixels per second
Vector2 dir = Vector2.Zero;
  dir.Y -= 1;
... // and so on... modify dir per your input so that it will result in X and Y being either -1, 0, or 1.

if (dir != Vector2.Zero) // Not sure off the top of my head if dir.Normalize() handles 0,0 already... easy to check :D
  dir.Normalize(); // This will normalize your direction vector to a length of one... which you can now multiply by your movement speed.

_position += dir * gameTime.Elapsed.TotalSeconds * speed;

I might have gotten a variable wrong or two in here, but hopefully you get the idea :wink:

1 Like

I got this code that was suggested from another site which is very similar to yours,

var dir = Vector2.Zero;

{
            dir.Y -= 1;
        }

{
            dir.Y += 1;
        }

{
            dir.X -= 1;
        }

{