How is GameTime.ElapsedGameTime calculated?

Hello! This is probably a incredibly noobish question, but I’m quite new to MonoGame.

According to the documentation and to this reply. GameTime.ElapsedGameTime is the time since the last call to Update(GameTime).

I created a small template project using

dotnet new mgdesktopgl -o MyGame

Then, I modified the existing Update function to the following:

protected override void Update(GameTime gameTime)
    {
        if (GamePad.GetState(PlayerIndex.One).Buttons.Back == ButtonState.Pressed || Keyboard.GetState().IsKeyDown(Keys.Escape))
            Exit();
        Console.WriteLine(gameTime.ElapsedGameTime);
        Thread.Sleep(2000);
        // TODO: Add your update logic here

base.Update(gameTime);
    }

Note that, in every UpdateFunction, we wait for two seconds.
That means that the time between UpdateFunctions should be at least two seconds.
But the only value being printed to screen is 00:00:00.0166667 (roughly 1/60).

Why is this? Shouldn’t it be at least two seconds, since it was not able to call Update for the two seconds fo delay?

I’m sorry if this question is too stupid and I appreciate the help.

Thanks!

1 Like

Ok, I’ve figured it by myself.

MonoGame uses Fixed timestep by default. I’ll copy this amazing explanation of fixed time step here, originally written by Shawn Hargreaves.

By default XNA runs in fixed timestep mode, with a TargetElapsedTime of 60 frames per second. This provides a simple guarantee:

We will call your Update method exactly 60 times per second
We will call your Draw method whenever we feel like it

Digging into exactly what that means, you will realize there are several possible scenarios depending on how long your Update and Draw methods take to execute.