How should I use the MonoGame Pipeline Tool?

Let me level-set. I know very little about MonoGame and the way it should be used. On the other hand, I’ve been working with OpenGL since the mid-1990s, Open Rails, which uses XNA, more recently, and computer graphics in general since the late 1960s. Having had my first taste of success with a textured FBX model yesterday, I set out today to do some experiments to determine the way that the pipeline tool was meant to be used.

Between the tool’s Help documentation and Chamillard’s book “Beginning C# Programming with MonoGame,” I got the idea that one should use the pipeline tool to set up (Visual Studio) MonoGame projects. (I no longer believe that.) I did two experiments today that led me to how I will use the pipeline tool, at least until somebody tells me the RIGHT way to use it.