How to load a binary file with a class containing a Color object?

I created a game in XNA which stored users in a binary file (I know it’s inefficient and that using a database is better, but I’m just beginning so this is the best method for me). In XNA, it stored a list of objects of type Skin, which had a property of type Color. The Color struct is not serializable in Monogame but it is in XNA. Thus, when I ported my game to Monogame, I had to create a SerializableColor class that stores R, G, B, and A values and added some extension methods for conversions from Color to SerializableColor. But now, I can’t load users from the older version into the newer version. How could I do this? I’d be willing to convert these old users with the Color object to new users with the SeralizableColor object instead, and serialize these new users or something…

If this isn’t enough for you to help, please tell me and I’ll provide the additional necessary information. Thank you in advance.

EDIT: I created two classes, OldSkin and OldUser which stored the old data types, and I then added conversion methods for these two. Unfortunately, it still didn’t work. Here is a screenshot of a popup generated by some error-handling code I have in there:

Hi Daniel!

I use serialization myself for save-games and scripting a lot and I use a simple trick (instead of writing a wrapper).
I simply use Vector4() for colors like this:

/// <summary>
///     This class holds all the information needed to describe a
///     particle-system in full extent.
/// </summary>
[Serializable]
public class ParticleSystemDescriptor
{
	/// <summary>
	///     A Vector4 representing the color of the particles with
	///     alpha-channel.
	/// </summary>
	public Vector4 Color;
... and so on...

But I have to say I only use it with XML serialization, but that shouldn’t really matter.