Matrix Forward's Y is inverted when the angle is >= 180 degrees

I’m a novice in low-level 3D and am working on a simple project to create a scene view camera similar to game engines like Godot, Unity, etc. I have all the angling correct and it looks great, but I’m encountering an issue with the Matrix’s Forward vector that I can’t wrap my head around.

If the camera is facing the world forward, the Forward vector returns a negative Y when angling the camera up and a positive Y when angling the camera down. However, when the camera is facing opposite the world forward, this is flipped. This causes my camera to move down when I move it forward despite it facing up and vice versa.

Here’s how I’m creating my View matrix:

public Matrix ViewMatrix
{
    get
    {
        //Adding the position to the forward matrix causes it to not change the direction it's facing when translating
        Vector3 lookForward = Vector3.Forward + position;

//Create a look at Matrix
        //To account for rotation, create a rotation about the Y with the y angle and an X with the x angle
        viewMatrix = Matrix.CreateLookAt(position, lookForward, Vector3.Up)
            * Matrix.CreateRotationY(yAngle)
            * Matrix.CreateRotationX(xAngle);

return viewMatrix;
    }
}

This looks okay to me because the view appears fine, but I feel something is off due to how it works with my controls. Here’s my code for controlling the camera:

public void Update(GameTime gameTime)
{
    MouseState state = Mouse.GetState(gameWindow);
    KeyboardState kstate = Keyboard.GetState();

if (kstate.IsKeyDown(Keys.W))
    {
        Vector3 forward = viewMatrix.Forward;
        forward.Z = -forward.Z;
        position -= (forward * unitsPerSecond) * (float)gameTime.ElapsedGameTime.TotalSeconds;
    }
    else if (kstate.IsKeyDown(Keys.S) == true)
    {
        forward.Z = -forward.Z;
        position += (forward * unitsPerSecond) * (float)gameTime.ElapsedGameTime.TotalSeconds;
    }