Methods for Compressing Saved Replays to Smaller Sizes?

Hi again. I have successfully created a replay system for my game, that works perfectly. However I have one problem. The files are way too big. I studied the size per second, about every 5 seconds is 150kb. Which means that 1 minute of recording is nearly 2mb in size, for 30mins its 50mb which is a big problem since I’m making an stg engine, and those tend to run about 30mins. I have studied other games such as Touhou, in which the replays are 50kb to 75kb in size.

Is there any way I could compress my replays? Specifically a method that doesn’t mess with the default system encryption format as I run my replays through that before saving.

What do you mean by “default system encryption”?

There are several things you could look at doing:

• Store less data. Are you storing an int when the values never go above 255 (byte) or 65535 (ushort)? Are you storing a Matrix when you could really just be storing the rotation and position?

• Are you storing data you don’t need? If firing a rocket, you could store just the launch event (position, direction), and the end result (player 2 was hit). The path the rocket takes between launch and the hit could be played as normal by the game, ignoring any collision results because the replay already says when something was hit by it.

• Run length compression. If an entity is standing still, you do not need to store its position every frame if that position never changes.

• Can you afford to lose precision without affecting playback too much? Can you store a 16-bit float instead of a full 32-bit float, with the resulting lower precision?

You could also try reducing your recording interval and use lerp (or a more advanced version) to calculate the bits in-between.

In on of my games I only record every 200ms and calculate all the other bits of data I need