Monogame(2D) or Unity3D(2D)?

Hello! Sorry for my English…
I am not a professional programmer. I’m an engineer, and programming - my hobby. Now to me is a very difficult choice. 3 years ago I began to study XNA and c# . Since childhood, I dreamed of writing a play. Ready engine I have not used. Now I see that, XNA died ((But, he became the father of Monogame. I created a 2D animation carcassing man, I created a map sprites, drawing a recursive tree and many others (4000 lines of code.) But all this is done in XNA, which is not works on the W8. Now I pondered, if not move on Unity3D me. He is very dynamic. for me the choice is very complex, monogame or Unity ??? Do not die tomorrow monogame died XNA ??? Which is better for 2D games mono or Unity ???

It’s not really a choice of which is better, rather it’s a choice of what you want from your engine or framework.

If you prefer an engine, like Unity, that’s packed full of features then use that. Be aware that Unity has many, many, features and all of these are implemented under the assumption that you MIGHT need them. So there will be a lot to learn, and many more things you most likely won’t even use.

If you’re like me, you prefer a framework rather than an engine. Something that gives you the means to do something, but doesn’t bring all the overbearing features that Unity does. I like to create my own tools for development, and I like to only use exactly what I need; rather than having all these tools I won’t ever use.

Like I said it really depends on your mindset and what you want or need from your engine.

Hope this helps!

4 Likes

Thank you, dev_eaneth. I understand you. I have another question arose. Who is engaged in the development monogame today? What is his future?
XNA is developed by Microsoft. And who develops monogame?