Monogame on Mac + FMod

I’ve been using Monogame for about 4 years now, since I want to create a game with my own engine and not use Unity, like many people around here I guess. I love Monogame. I want to start using my Macbook M1 to compile my project and I’m just trying to make a brand new clean project right now. I can compile a blank new monogame project on my Macbook M1, finally (it’s been an adventure to make it work).

I now want to install FMOD to this new project.

I need help!

I downloaded FMOD for Mac, but examples seems to be tied to xcode :frowning:

Anyone can help to include libraries and include files to a blank MG project? I want to use basic FMOD Studio API, that’s what I was using on my windows project (that has several hundreds of hours of code - I don’t want to lose it all), it was a UWP project, now I want to port it to a DesktopGL project and use my macbook for development.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Styves

Ok, I figured out how to use FMOD with Visual Studio 2019 for Mac in my Monogame project and I’m very happy that everything finally works! If anybody struggles with its initial M1 + VSS2019 + DOTNET setup or FMOD setup in that configuration, feel free to ping me!

Since I am playing around with audio, I would like to know which resources and tutorials you find useful for FMOD? FMOD is written in C++ right? So since I don’t know C++ for me it is difficult to understand how to use / consume it from the MonoGame C# side and also to find out how FMOD is intended to being used in general if that makes sense?
It would be nice to have the basic steps lined out and the reasoning behind it how to play an audio file with FMOD in a MonoGame application.

I did not find any useful resources for FMOD, that’s why I struggled :wink: I had to figure it out by myself, I’m glad to share! Here are the steps, sorry if some of them are really obvious, I prefer more than not enough details…