more than one kind of update function? also, hi!

hi everyone!
my name is su, but feel free to call me mouse =]

I’m a game developer with about ~ seven years of programming experience - mostly with gamemaker’s GML, but also a little bit of python [though that was a very long time ago], and c# has rapidly become my favourite language of all time =]

I’ve been evaluating monogame for my future projects, and it looks great - but there’s one thing I can’t seem to work out how I would go about coding.

the way I’ve always done moving platforms in gamemaker is to basically:

• have the platform calculate their next position,
  • have everything check if they are on the platform,
  • have the platform move, and then
  • have the things on the platform move accordingly, taking into account the platform’s new position.

obviously, this isn’t possible with just one update function - you’d need at least two for this scenario, and due to one reason or another I’m currently using all three [called “begin step”, “step”, and “end step” - I’d like to clarify that these are built-in names, not my own] in my current gamemaker project.

as far as I can tell, using monogame the way it’s supposed to be used only allows for a single kind of update - the GameComponentCollection class is sealed. is there any way to get around this limitation? or maybe, there’s some way of thinking that would make them unnecessary?

Hey Mouse,

The way I get about things like this is having an Update, and a PostUpdate in my state classes. So when it comes to the Update in your main Game1.cs, you’d have something like the below:

public void Update(GameTime gameTime)
{
    currentState.Update(gameTime);
    currentState.PostUpdate(gameTime);
}

That means you’re updating twice before drawing your assets.

Have a look at this and see if it helps you out.

1 Like

[Puts on puzzled expression…] :confused:

OK, fine… you get away with that one… :sweat_smile:

Now we are talking! and welcome to the forums!