My 3 year experience with MonoGame

3 years ago I graduated and decided to start making simple mobile games solo. I had to make a choice between MonoGame and Unity, and I went with MonoGame since I already knew XNA well and thought MonoGame will do fine for my simple 2D games. To be perfectly honest, which is the point of this post, I have come to regret this decision and am looking for a time break anytime soon to start learning and switching over to Unity. I am willing to put up with all sorts of development issues (no content pipeline, thin documentation, relatively small community, having to make many foundation stuff myself such as GUI and basic engine) as long as the final product worked well for the end user, but after much investment into the platform, I finally found many underlying issues, too many to list here, but here are the most major ones that are most apparent on iOS and Android, and least on WP:

1- MonoGame is slow: I develop on a 2011 iPhone 4, which quickly shows any performance issues. Simply drawing a full screen blank texture in MonoGame drops the FPS from 60 to 40. For my latest arcade game I was forced to use the Graphics clear color as my background to improve FPS, and still the game is basically unplayable on older devices, since after adding a few textures, it runs at sub 20 FPS. Meanwhile other games such as Badlands and Angry Birds, which utilize high res multi-layered backgrounds and tons of foreground objects run at a smooth high FPS on my iPhone 4. It is impossible to recreate this good performance in MonoGame.