Need help understanding this lines of code

Hello, i’m new to monogame and i only have some basic knowledge about classes, i don’t understand these following lines of code :

_graphics = new GraphicsDeviceManager(this);, why do i need to create a new instance of “GraphicsDeviceManager” and what is the purpose of the “this” keyword?

_spriteBatch.DrawString(font, "Score : " + score, new Vector2(10, 10), Color.Black);, why do i have to create a new instance of the Vector2 class ?.

Thanks in advance !.

1 Like

Thanks.

this is the object that the code is inside of so in this case its the Game object (ie. the code is inside of the Game class).

DrawString code you’ve shown is a shortcut for:

Vector2 myVector = new Vector2(10, 10);
_spriteBatch.DrawString(font, "Score : " + score, myVector, Color.Black);

DrawString requires you to pass in a Vector2 object which will have had new called somewhere in the program.

1 Like

Hello - another thing to consider esp. if your spriteBatch.DrawString() call is being invoked in the main game Update() method is that you don’t want to evaluate "Score : " + score every frame as this would create a lot of garbage. Remember strings are immutable in C# and concatenating two strings every frame will create a third string that will need to be garbage collected.

Instead, store that text in a variable; as your score does not change every frame only update the score value and the text when the score changes. That way you will generate a lot less garbage.

Reference:

2 Likes

Thanks, so technically the Vector2 parameter in spritebatch.draw() needs to be instantiated so i can only do “new Vector2” in the arguments ?(correct me i’m wrong), or like you said in your example.

Thanks, so i have to do something like ’ String finalText = $“Score : {score}”; ’ , then instead of passing score in the arguments for the spritebatch.draw() i pass finalText? (correct me if i’m wrong).