Not able to get correct World mouse coordinates with Unproject

Hi everyone,

This is my first attempt at writing a game with monogame. I’m using spritebatch to draw a bunch of sprites on a XY plane and I’m passing a basic effect with my camera matrices where:

world = Matrix.CreateScale(1, -1, 1);
view = Matrix.CreateLookAt(new Vector3(0, 0, 1.5f), new Vector3(0, 0, 0), Vector3.UnitY);
projection = Matrix.CreatePerspectiveFieldOfView(MathHelper.ToRadians(90), (float)_windowWidth / (float)_windowHeight, 0.1f, 100f);

I’m using Unproject to get the World space coordinates of my cursor to add and drag the drawn sprites on the plane, and this doesn’t give me the coordinates that I want. I’m using a workaround which I’m sure is not a good solution, by multiplying the unprojected mouseposition by the camera position Z coordinate * 20. Otherwise I can barely move the points and they are added near Vector.Zero, which is understandable since the values are very small without the multiplication.

Vector3 previousClientToWorldMousePosition = Game.GraphicsDevice.Viewport.Unproject(new Vector3(previousMouseState.X,
                previousMouseState.Y, 0f),
                ProjectionMatrix,
                ViewMatrix,
                WorldMatrix);

Vector3 curentClientToWorldMousePosition = Game.GraphicsDevice.Viewport.Unproject(new Vector3(currentMouseState.X,
            currentMouseState.Y, 0f),
            ProjectionMatrix,
            ViewMatrix,
            WorldMatrix);

deltaXmouseWorldPosition = previousClientToWorldMousePosition.X - curentClientToWorldMousePosition.X;
deltaYmouseWorldPosition = previousClientToWorldMousePosition.Y - curentClientToWorldMousePosition.Y;

//This is the workaround
viewMatrixZoomRelatedTranslation = -ViewMatrix.Translation.Z * 20; 

if (currentMouseState.LeftButton == ButtonState.Pressed && intersectPointIndex != null)
	{
		var pointIndex = intersectPointIndex.Value;