Nuget package for shared library in 3.8?

I am pretty new to C#, but not Visual Studio, and I wonder if anyone can tell me how I reference the MonoGame.Framework nuget package from a shared library? The shared library would be used to share code amongst projects targeting different platforms.

Is it MonoGame.Framework.Portable?

Nevermind - it looks like I used the wrong project template to create my library. If I use the MonoGame shared library template then it references MonoGame.Framework.DesktopGL.

As an aside, I notice this library project contains a Content folder with a Content.mgcb. Does that mean I can package common content using this?

Since there is a ContentManager in the Game1 class of the project that is built then sure, you can use it for shared content.

1 Like

That’s excellent! Forgive my ignorance, but what does this look like during deployment? I know that the Content folder will be copied to the target directory, so is the Content of both the app and the shared library put into the same directory? There is no “bundle” concept is there, like with macOS/iOS?

It will be placed in the Content folder of your game.

1 Like

Great stuff. Thanks for your help!

You can also try MonoGame Kickstarter if you like. Using one command it will setup a solution for Visual Studio and setup one or ore projects (windows directx, opengl crossplatform) together with a project for your shared code and content.
You can then add or remove more projects if you like, it just does automates the manual steps for you.

Here is a video of it showing the command and starting the generated MonoGame project (again you can open it with visual studio also etc).

You can find more information in this thread here

https://community.monogame.net/t/monogame-kickstarter/13391/26

and on the GitHub page

2 Likes

OK, nice. Thanks!

1 Like