Null reference exception when running Content.RootDirectory = "Content";

Hello, I’m new to MonoGame. I’m currently working on my own little library that wraps around MonoGame, adding some utilities for myself.

Here is the code that errors. (Line 29)

Here is the code that creates the SharpContext object.

When running the game, the following error occurs:

Unhandled exception. System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
   at SharpEngine.SharpContext..ctor() in /run/media/disk/dev/games/SharpEngine/src/SharpContext.cs:line 24
   at SharpGame.Game1..ctor() in /run/media/disk/dev/games/SharpGame/Program.cs:line 9
   at SharpGame.Program.Main(String[] args) in /run/media/disk/dev/games/SharpGame/Program.cs:line 22
Aborted (core dumped)

If any more info is needed, I’m happy to provide it.

Thanks in advance for any help :slight_smile:.

You should maybe look into not doing what you are trying to achieve, you have set out to wrap your own engine code around Monogame, well thats what you should do anyways, when you want to make a generall game, the options inside MonoDevelop are to make a generall project, which you should have done in my oppinion… since the monogame library project template is for code that you want to carry over into a plattform dependent or in the case of opengl project template a platform independent project template.