Pixel perfect collision with mirrored textures and 'lines'

Hi,

I’m trying to do pixel perfect collision and found a helpful tutorial from Riemers here and here. Basically, the Pixel Data of each texture is read into an array, and then matrices are used to determine which pixels occupy the same space and to honor rotation and scaling. Then it is checked if both pixels at that space are non-transparent to find a collision…

What I still don’t get is, how do I check pixel collision when the sprites are not only rotated/scaled, but also flipped horizontally (SpriteEffects.FlipHorizontally) and/or vertically (SpriteEffects.FlipVertically).

And how do I check collisions with a line, where a 1x1 pixel texture is drawn to a target rectangle with the length and rotation that the resulting line should have?

If you know an answer, please describe it as detailled as possible and as easy-to-understand as possible… I’m still a total beginner.

You can see the flipping as a combination of translation (depending on where the origin of your texture is) and scale. If your origin is in the middle of the texture you only need to scale to get the flip effect. That means if your sprite is flipped horizontally you just have to multiply the x-component of the scale that goes into the matrix by -1. A vertical flip is the same as multiplying the y-component of your scale by -1 (IF your origin is in the middle). Note that the origin only has to be in the middle in the component you’re mirroring around e.g. if you only flip around x the origin has to be in the middle in its x-component, but not necessarily in its y-component. If you’re working with matrices it’s easiest to have the origin in the center anyway. Now if the origin is for example in the upper left and you flip along x, you’d have to translate it by the width of the texture first so the result will be in the same place as just flipping with the origin in the center. In that case the creation of the matrix would look like this