Pong rebound algorithm advice

Hi all,

I’m sure this topic has been done to death, but I’m hoping to approach it in a slightly different way. Admin, please feel free to move this if it’s in the wrong place (go easy on me, I’m new to the community).

Quick introduction; I’ve been a commercial PHP developer for many years now, but always wanted to try my hand at game development. A friend pointed me towards Monogame and the rest is obvious.

Anyway, to the topic at hand. I have (as I’m sure everyone new to game development does) created a basic PONG clone. I’ve got a core gameplay working (2 paddles, simple AI, rebounds using Vectro2.Reflect(), etc.) but I’m not at that awkward stage of trying to make it more playable by tweaking the rebound algorithm so that it’s not just a standard rebound.

I’ve tried several methods including “faking” the shape of the paddle (to be more round), manually “forcing” the rebound vector depending on the collision site on the paddle and manipulating the reflection vector depending on the direction the paddle was travelling. The code I’ve written for these methods may not be pretty, but it “works” and I understand it.

My problem now is that I can’t seem to find method (or combination of methods) that makes for a good game. They all still feel a bit rubbish in terms of actually making a playable game. I was hoping that other ex-newbies might be able to offer me some advice as to what worked for them. I’m not really looking for code samples… more ideas and concepts. I’d really like to be “happy” with this game before I move on to more complex things.

Please help; All advice welcomed. Or just say “Hi”. Would be nice to get to know people :slightly_smiling:

Hi, welcome to MonoGame community.

No not everyone has created a basic Pong close :innocent:

You first and (most important) issue is the tittle which is miles away from your concern.