Rotated pixels aren't sharp :(

Hello again :smile:

Iā€™m porting and expanding my simple pixel game made in XNA to MonoGame. Porting was fast and now Iā€™m adding new features.

The game is low res and is upscaled to screen size with resolution/matrix class I found online.
I draw textures with SamplerState.PointClamp. Game looks good up untill I wanted to try out rotating texturesā€¦ they are ugly when I upscale them :frowning:

If I play the game in real resolution without upscaling, it looks nice and oldschool.

Gif of rotating pixels in real resolution:

Gif on screen upscaled to 1920x1080:

As you can see the upscaled has rotated pixels instead of squares. How can I fix this? I tried googling and finding help but I didnā€™t find anything. :cry:

My current setup:
MonoGame 3.5 (I didnā€™t go with 3.6 yet :sweat:), Visual Studio 2015 Community, Windows 10, cross-platform template project.
I donā€™t use shaders because I have no experience and knowledge how they work or how to use them :joy:

Thank you :smiley_cat:

Can you post a link to the resolution/matrix class youā€™re using?

You work around this if you draw to a low res rendertarget and only upscale the final image

EDIT:
I understand you want to rotate the sprite, but want the pixels inside to stay unangled (horizontal alignment).
This is super trivial to do and the easiest solution is to upscale after drawing the whole image.
For that you can use rendertargets (if you need help let me know).

Otherwise you can use a custom shader that uses some form of quantization for the pixel shader texture read. (Again I could help you with that, but make sure solution one doesnā€™t work for you first). Thatā€™s not trivial to implement into the default spritebatch.draw() pipeline and youā€™d have to make some adjustments to either monogame itself or make a custom spritebatch implementation.

This should be it XNA 2D Independent Resolution Ā· GitHub
I have made few changes to it, like functions for my Camera system.