Shadow shader for buttons

I am currently updating a game and I want to add a little bit of depth to the UI. I am not very good at graphics so I thought I will just add shadows to the buttons. It currently looks like this and I am happy about how it turned out.
first I draw the UI to a rendertarget: pic0
then I draw the UI stuff thats on top of it to another rendertarget: pic1
then I draw the shadowmap from the first UI layer to my shadow rendertarget
then I add the shadowmap from the second UI layer ontop of the shadow rendertarget: pic2
and then I draw the background and all the layers to the screen.

This is what my shader currently looks like:

float4 color = float4(0,0,0,0);

//don´t draw shadow if there is stuff over it
if(tex2D(s0, coords).a != 0)
    return float4(0,0,0,0);

for (int i = 0; i < 15; i++) {
    if(i + 1 > depth)
        break;

//draw the shadow
    //move up+left
    if (tex2D(s0, coords - float2(pixelSizeX, pixelSizeY) * (i + 1)).a != 0 ||
            (tex2D(s0, coords - float2(pixelSizeX, pixelSizeY) * (i + 1) + float2(pixelSizeX, 0)).a != 0 && 
             tex2D(s0, coords - float2(pixelSizeX, pixelSizeY) * (i + 1) + float2(0, pixelSizeY)).a != 0))
            return float4(0, 0, 0, 1.0 / depth * 0.5 * (depth - i));
}

return color;

My question is if this looks like a good idea. The compiler thinks that the for-loop isn´t a good idea but I don´t know how to do it different.

For with branching (also three texture taps in condition - which means 45 texture taps in loop + 1 outside) for effect like this is overkill. I mean there are considerably better options (more info is required to list best ones but - Bake shadow into assets / Do classic two pass blur on RT to get shadows). That being said I don´t think performance will be issue in your game thus it doesnt matter, but as a “good practice” this isn´t good way at all.

Also

if(tex2D(s0, coords).a != 0)
    return float4(0,0,0,0);

should look like