[SOLVED] Cross Platform Solution

First up I am a bit of a noob when it comes to project templates etc.

With Xamarin now being free I thought I would make a small game for android and iOS. I want to avoid having to separate solutions for each platform. I would like to avoid having to code for one platform the copy paste for the other.

From what I understand you are supposed to have one solution with multiple projects. One project for the main chunk of the code, the code that stays the same for all platforms. And then separate projects for each platform which then reference the main project.

The problem I have is this. I have tried referencing a project created with one of the monogame templates (I tried several) but it does not work. Lets say Project A is the main project and I want Project B to reference it. I right click Project B -> Add -> Reference -> Project A. So far so good, no errors or anything. But I can not actually using any of the code from Project A in Project B. The other way around works fine.

For Project A:
I have tried using Monogame Windows OpenGL template, Monogame Cross Platform Desktop template.

For Project B:
Blank App (Android)

I am using VS Community 2015
Monogame 3.5

Maybe you’re forgetting a using statement?

Maybe you’re forgetting to actually put code/references in that are needed to make monogame work on Android

Put all of the references from “C:\Program Files (x86)\MonoGame\v3.0\Assemblies\Android” into your Android project and in the Main Activity change it form inheriting whatever it currently does to AndroidGameActivity and remove all the code in the OnCreate void other than base.OnCreate(bundle); and add the following lines bellow:

var g = new Game1(); SetContentView((View)g.Services.GetService(typeof(View))); g.Run();

so it should like like in whole:
`using System;
using Android.App;
using Android.Content;
using Android.Runtime;
using Android.Views;
using Android.Widget;
using Android.OS;
using Microsoft.Xna.Framework;