Supported Content Types On Windows Phone?

Hi,

I am a Windows noob and am in the process of trying to port my iOS/Android MonoGame project to Windows Phone. So far the process has been extremely painful.

Anyway, after much weeping and gnashing of teeth I finally have my project compiling in Visual Studio 2013 and sort-of-running on the phone (in as much as I can see the game is launching and correct stuff getting executed).

Next hurdle is that I’m getting System.NotImplementedException when trying to load a PNG file. Should I be able to load ‘raw’ content files on Windows Phone or do I have to repackage as XNB? (I really hope not)!

Also, what types of content are supported? I really need 8 and 24-bit PNG, wav and MP3.

I am currently using v3.2 of MonoGame. I have managed to get the code from the Develop branch compiled but as yet untested as I can get the 8.0 project to load in VS2013 and the 8.1 package has required to me update my game project to 8.1 in order to reference it which now means it won’t run on my 8.0 phone!

Oh, the joy.

Any help much appreciated.

cheers

OK, so updated phone to 8.1. Used latest code from develop. Still getting the error when trying to do something as simple as load a png.

Thought I’d look into content pipeline. Installed XNA. Attempted to create a new ‘MonoGame Content’ project in VS and I get ‘This version of Visual Studio only supports Windows Store Apps’. I’m using VS Express 2013 - I think I installed the ‘Windows’ version.

Pretty much at a loss as what to do now though happy to be told it’s all a problem between chair and keyboard!

You do have to package them as .xnb.

As to the content pipeline, I had the same problem. I think its from using the express version of visual studio. But I didn’t dig too hard into it as I have limited time to play around with this.

I found this free/quick tool instead to generate the .xnb files and then I just copy them into my project.