Texture2D from bitmap? or better ways (Combine Football Player template with Team shirt)

For my game I have one png template of a “football player”, but each team has different shirt. So I have a png per team with the shirt (users can edit database and add extra teams and extra shirts).

What I thought I would do is when I load the texture2D for a football player is first, via a bitmap object, combine the png of the football player template and the png of his team and than convert that bitmap to a texture2D.

Another option I thought of was: just drawing the player & shirt seperatly each draw/update, but that looks kinda overhead and I thought it would be better to combine them first into one Texture2D.

Or am I missing something obvious to do this?

How would you combine? I am a newbie but I guess that combining the two images in your code (CPU land) would be more expensive than passing the two images to SpriteBatch to draw one on top of the other.

I think that would be GDI+ indeed, two bitmap objects… but I have to do this only once… the drawing together option is done every draw()…

Maybe I don’t fully understand the situation, but can’t you simply merge the texture while you are loading the game? I’m doing something similar with the maps I’m parsing from the editor: I load each layer individually, and then I merge all the static (non-parallax) layers on top of each other as one Texture2D object when I’m loading the game, and I just that one big Texture2D runtime with the spritebatch.
I imagine you have pretty small textures for your players, I don’t think it would add much to the loading time to “prepare” the new textures and just draw them from memory.

1 Like

Could you elaborate a bit more on how you would do “merge the two into one texture2d”, because that is exactly what I am after but I don’t know how to merge two PNG files into one texture2d

I see now.