Tiled Testability Tedium

Hello! I’ve been using MonoGame on and off for a few years now, and started to work with the Monogame.Extended.Tiled package. I had some issues (Apparently unless you install the prerelease versions of everything, the pipeline tool doesn’t work!) but mostly figured them out.

But then I realized that to implement my collision and movement system, I was going to have to build an invisible 3D representation of my Tiled maps. Conveniently, we have this nice set of objects that load this stuff! Alright, time to write some tests! I’ll just construct a TiledMap and… oh.

Oh.

You can construct a TiledMap, entirely manually, but then who knows if it will match one loaded through the content system. No, that won’t do at all. Okay, so I guess we’ll just start up a ContentManager and… experience failure again. Because even stubbed out as deeply as you can go, eventually the ContentManager tries to load a GraphicsDevice and GraphicsAdapter, and those are impossible to substitute with a mock.

Okay, lets try something more oulandish: We’ll try replacing it all with Pose! And get a BadImageFormatException!

This is seriously doing my head in. I just want an accurately loaded map as input for a series of tests of code that will process TiledMap instances. Does anyone have any hints for me?

Yeah, unfortunately writing unit tests with MonoGame has never been the easiest thing to do.

This is mostly due to the design decisions made in the original Microsoft XNA which MonoGame is based upon. It pretty much makes any kind of mocking impossible because there’s lots of global static state that couples everything to the Game class.