Trying to create a FPS-style camera so I can "move around" a loaded model

I have a VS 2022 solution here:

ScottTunstall/Monogame3DRotatingCamera: A camera revolving around a textured cube. (github.com)

It’s based on the tutorial here:
Monogame Tutorial: Beginning 3D Programming – GameFromScratch.com

It works fine.

What I’d like to do is change this so:

1. I can move around the loaded 3D Model using WSAD keys and mouse to “look up/down”, like in an FPS.
  2. I would then like to add more models to the “world”, that I could “drive” amongst, kind of like the video game Battlezone.

I have looked for camera and model code here, but had no success. I thought about rotating the camera on its own axis, and the “look at” target using CreateFromAxisAngle() but didn’t have any lucky with that.

I’m not a math expert and did not study 3D programming at Uni, but if you tell me what code I need to add, I will try add it myself.

Note: this is only for personal research purposes. I am not creating a game.
When I crack this, I will upload to Github so others can use it to learn.

If you want a camera that orbits around some target, something like this should work:

Vector3 camDir = Matrix.CreateFromYawPitchRoll(yaw, pitch, 0).Forward;
Vector3 camPos = camTarget - camDir * camDistance;
Matrix viewMatrix = Matrix.CreateLookAt(camPos, camTarget, Vector3.Up);

Hi Markus, thanks for replying.

I’m looking for a free-moving camera that lets me roam around the 3D models I have positioned in 3D space using WSAD.

My current line of thinking is to move forward is easy. I just subtract the camera position vector3 from the camera target Vector3, then normalize the vector and add the result to the camera position.