Updating to latest development build breaks everything

Hi guys,

I guess I should have posted this in the Git Issues, but oh well.

I am a noob, so let’s go.

I used 3.6.183 for a while, wasn’t sure if the MSAA worked already in that one (since it didn’t for me) so I decided to upgrade to the current version (read: load the development build installer from the downloads page) - as i did many times before. I am using the DirectX branch for my project.

Well now basically everything that has to do with graphics fails. I cannot load FX files, even the ones that are basically empty.

_lightingEffect = content.Load<Effect>("FX/LightShader");

->

An unhandled exception of type 'SharpDX.SharpDXException' occurred in SharpDX.dll

Additional information: HRESULT: [0x80070057], Module: [General], ApiCode: [E_INVALIDARG/Invalid Arguments], Message: The parameter is incorrect.

When I comment them out, just to see what happens it throws another error where I can’t assign an indexBuffer and I get a NotSupportedException.

_indexBuffer = new IndexBuffer(graphicsDevice, typeof(int), terrainManager.Indices.Length, BufferUsage.WriteOnly);

->

NotSupportedException
A first chance exception of type 'System.NotSupportedException' occurred in MonoGame.Framework.dll

Additional information: The profile does not support an elementSize of IndexElementSize.ThirtyTwoBits; use IndexElementSize.SixteenBits or a type that has a size of two bytes.

Which is really stupid, since I need int instead of short in cases of very large models. It worked before, why does it not work any more?

Well it doesn’t stop there.

If I comment that out again, just to see what happens -> All my rendertargets are incorrect now. Can’t load them.

_bloomRenderTarget2DMip0 = new RenderTarget2D(_graphicsDevice, (int) (width * GameSettings.SuperSample), (int) (height*GameSettings.SuperSample), false, SurfaceFormat.Rgba1010102, DepthFormat.None, 0, RenderTargetUsage.DiscardContents);

->