Using Monogame or Unity to start learning and developing games?

Good morning, I want to start learning game development… today there are several options, one very promoted platform is Unity, so I am in doubt if using Monogame or Unity to learn game programming?. What are th advantages of using Monogame over Unity, or Unity over Monogame. I want to point out that I am a Software Engineer with 19 years experience in industry, with experience in Web Systems, embedded systems and control systems, so in terms of Developing algorithms and learn languages for is not a problem, they are part of me.

I appreciate your guidance.

Monogame is a framework not an engine like Unity. You’ll have to do a bigger part yourself to build your own engine with it or make your game (for ex: space partitionning, or Ai, etc).
The benefit of this work is you’ll learn a lot more with Monogame than just dropping models into a window and adding components already pre-built without knowing but only the tip of the iceberg how it runs under the hood. :blush:

Its really hard to compare the two as they don’t even play on the same field.

Unity is a commercial game engine with its own editor and tool chain. With Unity you can build games with minimal or even zero programming skills (if you use only scripts from the asset store), but you have less freedom and all games in Unity have that “unity feel” to them. Unity is suitable for both 3d and 2d games, although the 2d part is not as good imo.

MonoGame is a framework in C# to develop games. As such it requires lots of programming skills but also comes with a total freedom. However, doing realistic 3D stuff in MonoGame is a lot of work (unlike 2d which is very easy).

Unity advantages:

1. Super easy to learn and use.
  2. Asset store to get scripts and resources from.
  3. Lots of built-in tools, like models animator, etc.
  4. Provide realistic 3d rendering out of the box.