what is the best structure for a game?

hello im new to monogame it looks a lot like libGDX, however i cannot find good tutorials for game development, i have been watching only indroductions where they explain how to render images, how to add them, input, i already know how to do that, but im looking a better structure i can use, like levels, support for diferent screen sizes, how to xport to xbox, etc.etc.

any help or link to more advanced tutorials would be appreciated.

Hi, Welcome to the forums…

MonoGame is more akin to XNA, so finding resources based on that would be more ideal for you. Concerning XBOX, just use the search feature on the forum; there is plenty of data on here regarding how to go about it.

Code On!

There is no standard way of doing either of those tasks, its up to the developer how they are gonna do them.

ie. For screen size you could: Render stuff to a render target or pass transform matrix to the spritebatch that does scaling or write custom scaling code, etc.

Unfortunately, game development is still very much a black art as a result of a lack of quality documentation in terms of the various game engines available.

However, with MonoGame, like libGDX, there is a preliminary structure for the methods in the main module, which defines a standard game loop for the processing.

I would suggest that you put as little into this primary module as possible since it is only there to handle the master game loop process. The rest of your functionality should be broken down into sub-sections of the master project or libraries that support specific functionality. This way, you can design a game in similar style to building a business application.

Structuring your game in this fashion will have little affect on overall performance since everything is processed through the .NET CLR and the MonoGame libraries.

If you would like, I could send a you an image of my own game project solution to give you an idea as to how I have set up my own work…