What's the simplest way to make a clickable button?

Hi all,

I’m currently studying a university game design course - we’ve been using Monogame for two months now, and it hasn’t been easy to learn - our only coding experience before this was Unreal Engine 4.

Our current project is to make a platformer in Monogame with animations, collision, jumping and win / lose screens.

It’s been quite difficult to find up-to-date tutorials covering any of these topics, but clickable buttons in particular have been a nightmare. I’m hoping for a system where players can use their mouse to click a button, and that button would then take them to a different gamestate (in this case, a button to go from main menu to level 1 and a separate button to quit the game.)

My current system of pressing numpad keys to swap gamestates is working well, but the assignment specifically mentions clickable buttons. Any help would be much appreciated.

Hi @Westy10, Welcome to the Community!

A few tips for future posts:

Detail which version of MonoGame you are using, Currently the latest release is NuGet 3.8 Release
Detail which project you are using, DesktopDX / UWP / OpenGL / Custom Fork / Dev Builds …
Your OS, Windows 10 / MacOS / Linux Distro
EDIT Devices testing or publishing to

If the situation is hardware related or you mention refresh rates or something similar, detail your hardware, Input Devices, Screen, GPU, CPU, RAM and anything else you feel may help others solve your problem without them needing to ask and take more time to provide a response.

Happy Coding!

Thanks for the welcome! Sorry for not including details, probably would’ve helped :laughing:

I’m on the most recent release, NuGet 3.8 on Visual Studio 2019.

The project I set up is “for the Windows desktop using DirectX” and I’m on Windows 10 x64.

I’m testing all this on my laptop, and it’s a computer-only project so any mobile features aren’t (and won’t be) used.